Skip to content
BSME Awards 2016

BSME Awards 2016

This year’s BSME Awards, announced last night, reflect the rise of the small independents. The new independent category was well won by Delayed Gratification, but it’s also satisfying to note wins for Penny Martin and The Gentlewoman, Eye magazine editor John L Walters for his work on Pulp, and Rachel Jolley at Index on Censorship. Here’s a complete list of winners – congratulations all.

Business Brand - Monthly or Less Frequent
Nigel Praities, Pulse, Cogora

Business Brand – Weekly/Fortnightly/More Frequent
Jenni Middleton, Nursing Times, Plexus

Branded Content - Business
John L. Walters, Pulp (for Fedrigoni), Eye Magazine Ltd

Branded Content - Consumer
Nigel Evans, &London (for Strutt & Parker), Sunday
Highly Commended: Simon Kurs, easyJet Traveller, Ink

Lifestyle Brand
Paul McNamee, The Big Issue

Entertainment Brand
Mike Williams, NME, Time Inc. UK
Highly Commended: Terri White, Empire, Bauer Media Group

Special Interest Brand
Rachael Jolley, Index on Censorship, Sage
Highly Commended: Richard Headland, Which?, Which? Ltd

Men’s Brand
Dylan Jones, GQ, Condé Nast
Highly Commended: James Charlton, Forever Sports, Haymarket

Women’s Brand - Monthly or Less Frequent
Penny Martin, The Gentlewoman, Fantastic Woman

Women’s Brand - Weekly/Fortnightly/More Frequent
Lisa Smosarski, Stylist, Shortlist Media Ltd

Newspaper or Current Affairs Brand
Nicola Jeal, The Times Magazine, News UK

Independent Brand
Rob Orchard & Marcus Webb, Delayed Gratification

The Fiona Macpherson New Editor Of The Year
Russell Parsons, Marketing Week, Centaur Media

Art Director – Business
Tom Carpenter, The Architectural Review, Plexus
Highly Commended: Aubrey Smith, Supply Management, Haymarket

Art Director – Consumer
Paul Frost, Forever Sports, Haymarket

Art Director – Branded Content
Clare Watters, John Lewis Edition, John Brown Media

Launch Of The Year
Anna Bassi, The Week Junior, Dennis Publishing

Campaign Of The Year
Ben Preston, Radio Times, Immediate Media for their DCMS Campaign which fought for readers, exposed a lie and forced a Government u-turn

Highly Commended: Simon Brew,, Dennis Publishing for their Geeks Vs Loneliness, a mental health campaign deliberately designed to appear where people would least expect to find it

Innovation / Brand-Building Initiative Of The Year
Alexandra Shulman, Vogue, Condé Nast Britain for Vogue 100: A Century of Style, an exhibition showcasing the remarkable range of photography commissioned by British Vogue since it was founded in 1916

Columnist - Special Interest & Business Brand
John Lewis-Stempel, Country Life, Time Inc. UK
Highly Commended: Mark Ritson, Marketing Week, Centaur Media

Columnist - Consumer & General Interest Brand
Simon Kuper, FT Weekend Magazine, The Financial Times Ltd
Highly Commended: Damian Barr, The Big Issue

Scoop Of The Year
Matthew Todd, Attitude, for ‘Prince William speaks out against homophobic bullying in Attitude.’

The Mark Boxer Award
Ian Hislop, Editor, Private Eye

The 2016 Editors’ Editor Of The Year
Ben Preston, Editor, Radio Times, Immediate Media

The winners of the two Cover Of The Year categories were voted on by guests attending the Awards Dinner. The winners are:
Cover of the Year Business:
Robert Jeffery & Chris Barker, People Management
Cover of the Year Consumer:
Dan Biddulph, The Sunday Times Magazine

You can see the full shortlists here.

Previous post Migrant Journal, #1
Next post Meet… Put A Egg On It, 10.11.16